Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


ATSC Program Honors and Awards

Our students and faculty are extremely successful at whatever they do.  Here are some measures of that success:

ATSC Students:

  • 11 American Meteorological Society (AMS) Undergraduate Scholarship recipients
    • At least one winner each year from 2018 through 2023 (only UGA and the University of Oklahoma can claim this)
  • 8 NOAA Hollings Scholarship winners, including 6 in just three years (2021-23)
  • 3 AMS Graduate Fellowship winners
  • 3 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship winners
  • 2 First Honor (perfect 4.00 GPA) Graduates
  • 2 Regional Emmy Award winners (4 Emmys in all)
  • 1 American Geophysical Union (AGU) Scholarship winner
  • 1 NOAA Lapenta Internship winner
  • 1 UGA Alumni Association 40 Under 40 Award winner


ATSC Faculty:

  • We have 15 faculty, including 8 faculty in the Department of Geography who form the core of the teaching faculty
  • Our faculty's publications have international impact and have been cited nearly 40,000 times (Google Scholar)
  • Our faculty are recipients of the highest professional honor of Fellow from the following societies and academies: AMS (3), American Association of Geographers (AAG), National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, American Academy of Arts & Sciences
  • Our faculty have won lifetime national research, teaching, mentoring, promotion of diversity, service, and/or communications awards from the AMS (3), AGU, American Association for the Advancement of Science, AAG, SouthEastern Division of the AAG, National Weather Association, the Korey Stringer Institute, and the Captain Planet Foundation, and the Southeastern Conference
  • Our faculty have received numerous teaching awards from UGA, including the First Year Odyssey Teaching Award, Sandy Beaver Excellence in Teaching Award (5), Sandy Beaver Teaching Professorship, Richard B. Russell Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award, and the Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professorship
  • We excel at service, with two recipients of the faculty advising award from UGA's Franklin College and two public service/outreach awards from UGA's College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences and Public Service and Outreach



Support us

We appreciate your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click here to learn more about how to help us grow.

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.